A beginner’s guide to The Incubator

The good people of The Incubator have been kind enough to include a flash fiction story of mine – ‘The Question’ – in their latest issue.

photoThis means a lot to me. I’ve only been submitting stories for a few months – encouraged to do so by the facilitator of my writing class, the fantastically supportive Laura McKenna – and The Incubator was the first literary journal to welcome me into the fold. I can’t tell you how exciting it was to open the email that I assumed was going to be my first official rejection slip. I was even braced for that particular rite of passage, so was amazed that it was actually an acceptance – though I have had the rejection  experience since, and can cross that off the writerly milestones list. I can also confirm that it sucks.

So thanks, editors Kelly Creighton, Anne Caughey and Claire Savage, you’ve made an aspiring scribbler very happy.

 

One thought on “A beginner’s guide to The Incubator

Leave a Reply

