The weekly herding: better late than never

It’s been a bit of a mad week, and I have to keep asking people what day it is because I don’t know whether I’m coming or going. As a result, there are just two items on the agenda for the regular round-up of writing-related articles. Both popped up on my Twitter feed, but I lost track of who posted them, so thanks to whoever they were.

J8HP1PXSEJ.jpg
I’ve been so busy I haven’t even had time to search for annoying herding pictures as illustrations. So instead here’s a bizarre stock photo of a typewriter and a terrifying doll

Meeting of minds

First up is a wonderful  Irish Times interview with American writer Garth Greenwell by fellow novelist Paul McVeigh. It’s like listening to two musicians riffing, such is their deep love for and understanding of their subject. I particularly liked their conversation about repetition in language, the power of the rhythm of words. This really is an absolutely lovely read.

Short stories in the spotlight

Another article I stumbled across was in The TelegraphClear-eyed and cutting edge: has the short story come of age? by Anthony Cummins claims that the short story is enjoying a new wave of popularity. Great news for those of us cutting our teeth on the short form.

Leave a Reply

