Currently reading

photo-80
The Kindle on top represents The Essex Serpent, plus a gabillion sad, half-read books

I’m spoilt for choice bookwise at the moment. I’m halfway through Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent, which I’m reading soooo sloooowly but enjoying very much. I can see it as the next major BBC Sunday night costume drama.

But what to read next? I actually get into a panic when I have too many intriguing books to choose from – which to go with? The pressure! Of this particular batch, I have the highest hopes for Donal Ryan’s All We Shall Know, because I loved The Thing About December and The Spinning Heart. Then again, Francis Spufford’s Golden Hill is a borrowed copy and I have a thing about keeping people’s books, as if there’s some Countdown clock ticking, so maybe that will be the lucky one.

On my wish list for my next trip to a book shop are Sarah Baume’s second book A Line Made By Walking and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman, which has an enormous buzz about it far ahead of its publication in May.

Leave a Reply

